Asian School Badminton | Malaysia boys emerge victorious; Thailand girls dominate

no photo

Asian School Badminton | Malaysia boys emerge victorious; Thailand girls dominate

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


The Asian School Badminton Championships saw the youth of Thailand and Malaysia dominate proceedings as the two countries were crowned champions in the girls and boys category. The ASBC seen youngsters from a total of six nations battle it out for glory at the Divisional Sports Complex in Nagpur.

The city of Nagpur renowned for its oranges found itself covered in orange as the young girls from Thailand donned on orange jerseys, which ultimately proved to be lucky for the visitors as they were crowned winners in their respective category.

The eight-member Thailand girls’ team played a total of 33 games in 16 matches of which they just dropped one as they took the championship in stunning fashion.

Thailand blanked Malaysia 3-0 with the duo of Benyappa Aimsaard and Atitaya Povanon doing the star turn by winning their respective singles and doubles matches in the six-nation Asian School event organized by the School Games Federation of India (SGFI). 

As the Thai girls dominated proceedings in the girl’s category, the top-seeded Malaysian boys' team fought their way to victory as they beat Thailand in the finals by a score of 3-1. Having won 16 of the 17 matches they played in the entire tournament, Malaysia gave a dominant display by dropping just four games from the 36 they fought. 

Meanwhile, the Indian boy's team finished third after losing their semifinal match to Thailand. 


GIRLS (Final):

Thailand bt Malaysia 3-0

Benyappa Aimsaard bt Kasturi Qadhakrishnan 21-9, 21-15; Benyppa Aimsaard-Atitaya Povanon bt Ganjing Err-Teoh Lexuan 21-16, 14-21, 21-18; Atitaya Povanon bt Letshanaa Karutaphevan 21-11, 21-16.

Semifinals: Thailand bt Hong Kong 3-0; Malaysia bt Singapore 3-1 

BOYS (Final)

Malaysia bt Thailand 3-1 

Mohammad Shaqeem Iiman bt Teerapat Kleaman 21-10, 21-15; Oojhy Dar-Kok Jing Hong bt Sirawit Sothan-Tanadon Punpanich 21-14, 17-21, 21-17; Lee Shon Yang lost to Vichaya Pong Wong 19-21, 11-21; Wan Mohammad Arif-Whyan Goh Wa Yap bt Wong Sathorn Thongkham-Patranat Term Janasak 23-21, 21-11.

Semifinals: Thailand bt India 3-1; Malaysia bt Singapore 3-0.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey