Malaysia Open | Saina Nehwal reaches second round; Sameer Verma bows out

no photo

Malaysia Open | Saina Nehwal reaches second round; Sameer Verma bows out

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Indian ace shuttler Saina Nehwal swept away Yip Pui Yin of Hong Kong in the opening round of 2018 BWF Malaysia Open by a scoreline of 21-12 21-16 to advance to the second round. However, Sameer Verma was beaten in just 32 minutes by Indonesia’s Tommy Sugiarto 21-13, 21-5.

After an impressive gold medal at this year’s 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in Australia, former world number one Saina Nehwal began the 2018 BWF Malaysian Open with a stylish win over Yip Pui Yin of Hong Kong. Nehwal made sure she beat her Asian counterpart with a scoreline of 21-12 21-16 in a match that lasted just 42 minutes. Saina has been in good form of late and today’s win ensured a place in the second round of the ongoing tournament where she will go up against second seed Akane Yamaguchi of Japan. After she finished second at the Indonesia Masters earlier this year, Saina will look to seal a title finish in Malaysia despite being handed a tough group this year.

Meanwhile, Indian male shuttler Sameer Verma suffered a defeat at the hands of Indonesia’s Tommy Sugiarto by a scoreline of 21-13, 21-5 in just 32 minutes. In the second game, Verma, from 2-4 down, gave away 10 points in a row to inevitably hand over the match to Gugiarto.

Rohan Kapoor and Kuhoo Garg’s mixed doubles campaign also ended in the first round itself in Malaysia after they lost to eighth seeds He Jiting and Du Yue of China 21-9, 21-10.

After a month-long break, India’s other top shuttlers like PV Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth will also resume their season in a bid to add to their trophy cabinet in the south-east Asia leg of BWF world tour.

Easier than picking 11 Players, Predict Cricket Matches in 2 minutes!

Predict IND vs AF, Royal London Cup & More matches from around the world! Download here Now!

Win Cash Everyday on NostraGamus! Play Now on Android & predict matches of ANY Sport! Click here to Download Now & Get ₹40 Cash Bonus!!

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey