Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal left out of Sri Lanka T20 squad for India series

no photo

Getty Images

Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal left out of Sri Lanka T20 squad for India series

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the squad for the upcoming three T20I games against India which will start after the third ODI in Visakhapatnam. Lasith Malinga didn’t find a place in the squad and Suranga Lakmal and Lahiru Thirimanne have also been rested for the games.

Malinga, who played his last T20I against India in Colombo in September, has been sidelined for the upcoming T20I series against India. He was also not part of the ODI and Test squad. The list has been ratified by Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera. The list, however, says Malinga has been rested, without stating any reason for that. Malinga had last taken part in the Bangladesh Premier League.

Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep, and Vishwa Fernando will spearhead the pace attack and they will be accompanied by all-rounders Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera and Dasun Shanaka

Apart from Malinga, fast bowler Suranga Lakmal has been rested while top order batsmen Lahiru Thirimanne and Dhananjaya de Silva were left out. Vishwa Fernando and Dasun Shanaka have replaced them in the squad.

The first match of the series will be played at Cuttack on December 20 which will be followed by matches in Indore and Mumbai on December 22 and 24 respectively.

Sri Lanka T20I Squad: Thisara Perera (C) Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Janith Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Asela Gunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Chaturanga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep and Vishwa Fernando

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey