WATCH | Indian women's team become the first side to use DRS in women's cricketing history

no photo

Getty Images

WATCH | Indian women's team become the first side to use DRS in women's cricketing history

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Indian women's team became the first side in women's cricket to opt for DRS in the 18th over during their inaugural encounter against England on Saturday. They successfully cashed in the review to dismiss Natalie Scriver and went on to win the match defeating the hosts by 35 runs.

The Indian women's team kicked-off their World Cup campaign on a high by defeating the hosts for 35-runs and also going down in the history of women's cricket as the first international side to use the Decision Review System (DRS).  

The incident in question took place on the first delivery of the 18th over when Indian skipper Mithali Raj brought off-spinner Deepti Sharma into the attack for the first time in the match. The change did wonders for India when English batswoman Natalie Scriver tried to sweep the ball and only managed to glove it to wicketkeeper Sushma Verma who took an attentive catch and straight away started appealing. However, the standing umpire wasn't interested in the appeal and ruled it not-out. Mithali Raj then opted for a review and the Ultraedge technology showed a spike as the ball passed Scriver's glove to make it certain that the English batswoman was indeed dismissed accounting for England's third wicket with 63 runs on the board.

drs wwc india from Akshay Kokde on Vimeo.

Earlier in the game, Smriti Mandhana came out all guns blazing to score a 72-ball 90 and weaved a 144-run opening wicket stand with Poonam Raut (86 off 134) to provide the Indian side with a perfect start. Mithali Raj followed the explosive performance with her record seventh consecutive half-century as India posted an imposing total of 281 on the board. Chasing 282, England faltered in building partnerships and kept on losing regular wickets to eventually bow out of the game after being bowled out for 246.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey