Ashwin, Jadeja rested for Australia tour; Shami, Umesh recalled

no photo

Ashwin, Jadeja rested for Australia tour; Shami, Umesh recalled

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


BCCI has announced its 16-man squad for the first three ODIs of the five-match ODI series against Australia, and R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have missed out yet again. The MSK Prasad-led committee has decided to stick with Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who impressed on the Sri Lanka tour.

Ashwin, who is currently plying his trade in English County cricket for Worcestershire, and his spin partner, Jadeja, last represented India in the one off T20 against West Indies in Kingston in July. The duo were rested as Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal were given the nod for the limited overs' series against Sri Lanka and they didn't disappoint. Their impressive performances have now been rewarded with another three ODIs - this time against Australia.

"The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the Board and accordingly R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadejahave been rested," MSK Prasad, said, reported Cricbuzz.

"The team's performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will, in turn, supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours."

While the batting lineup remained the same, the selection committee decided to leave out pacer Shardul Thakur, who played a couple of games in Sri Lanka. Thakur has been replaced by senior pacers Mohammad Shami and Umesh Yadav for the first three matches of the series.

The first ODI will be played in Chennai followed by trips to Kolkata and Indore after which the teams can make changes to the squads for the remaining matches in Bangalore and Nagpur. 

The BCCI also announced the India 'A' squad that will play the New Zealand 'A' side in two four-day matches starting September 23. Karun Nair as been chosen to lead the side while Rishabh Pant has been handed the wicketkeeping responsibilities.

Full Squad : Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

India A : Priyank Panchal, R Samarth, Sudip Chatterjee, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Karun Nair (C), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shahbaz Nadeem, K Gowtham, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Ankit Rajpoot

India or Sri Lanka? Who will win the 2nd ODI?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the SL vs IND ODI challenge and win cash prizes daily!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

Easier than picking 11 Players, Predict Cricket Matches in 2 minutes!

Predict IND vs AF, Royal London Cup & More matches from around the world! Download here Now!

Win Cash Everyday on NostraGamus! Play Now on Android & predict matches of ANY Sport! Click here to Download Now & Get ₹40 Cash Bonus!!