Umpiring howlers are common in recent days as anything and Ishant Sharma, despite being on the right side of the coin, trolled the umpire by not celebrating a dismissal. After Richard Kettlebrough declared Windies’ last man Kemar Roach out, Ishant walked back to his bowling crease.
Let’s take the formality out of the way and I am getting into the content straight away, because, hey Lord Ishant is at his patient best. On the fourth ball of the 21st over, Ishant showed that side of his character but ended up trolling the umpire for his mistakes, albeit in a completely different differential.
With one wicket to win, India were in a hurry to wrap things up in a go and Ishant shortened his length against Kemar Roach to invite him for a shot off the pad. However, he held the line around off and while shuffling across the stumps, Roach ended up inviting the ball to hit his pads. As the Indians started to appeal, the umpire was instantly convinced and raised his finger to signal the end of Roach’s innings.
Although Ishant was very loud in his appeal, he clearly knew that it was not out and even before Kemar Roach went for the review, Ishant started walking back to his crease to bowl the next delivery, almost knowing the eventual verdict. He was right as the UltraEdge confirmed that there was no edge involved and then Ball Tracking showed it was indeed going well over the top.
Cricket FootBall Kabaddi