Laimwon Nazary breaks national junior high jump record

no photo

NorthEast Today Facebook

Laimwon Nazary breaks national junior high jump record

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


On Sunday, Assam's Laimwon Nazray set a new girl's high jump record after she completed a 1.77 meters effort overtaking Bobby Aloysius previous benchmark of 1.75 m at 1992 National Junior Athletics competition. Earlier, Priyanka Kerketta broke the 15-year old national record of a 6.25m long jump.

The 15th Federation Cup Junior National Athletics tournament saw long-term standing records crash and tumble on two consecutive days. On Sunday it was Assam's Laimwon Nazray who broke a 25-year old standing record to finish at the top with her 1.77 m jump. Following Nazray were Rubina Yadav and Rekha both from Haryana who cleared a height of 1.71 meters to finish second and third respectively.

On Saturday, it was Jharkhand's Priyanka Kerketta who broke the 15-year old national record in the girl's long jump event when she cleared the distance of 6.30 meters to overtake Ruta Patekar's 6.25m record set at the 2002 National Athletics tournament.

Earlier on Saturday, Eknath Turambeker from Punjab beat the previous record timing in the Boys' 10000m Race Walk to set up a new national benchmark. The 19-year old completed the race in 43:36.67 to beat the previous best of 43:37.66 set by Kuldeem in 2012. Haryana lad Sunil with a timing of 43:41.17 and Amanjot Singh from Punjab with 44:08.17 finished second and third respectively.

Amoj Jacob who won the 800m gold at Asian Junior Championship last year and recently outclassed Rio Olympian Jinson Johnson at the Senior Federation Cup Patiala won the 400m race with a timing of 48.25 seconds followed by Haryana's Ravinder and Gaurav with timings of 48.66 seconds and 48.72 seconds respectively. 

Support INDIA! Predict India vs Afghanistan & Win CASH!

Win Cash Prizes of upto ₹75,000! Download NostraGamus here Now!

Win Cash Everyday on NostraGamus! Play Now on Android & predict matches of ANY Sport! Click here to Download Now & Get ₹40 Cash Bonus!!