Sourav Ganguly picks his all-time XI; Only two Indians make it

no photo

© Gettyimages

Sourav Ganguly picks his all-time XI; Only two Indians make it

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


One of India's greatest captains, Sourav Ganguly picked his all-time XI for the series of such picks done by the MCC at Lord's. The southpaw left himself out of the list and picked only 2 Indians, while also leaving legendary Pakistan pacer Wasim Akram from it to select Dale Steyn and Glenn McGrath.

As part of the series of all-time XI picks for the Marylebone Cricket Club done by cricketers, Sourav Ganguly was asked to pick his XI. The Prince of Kolkata left himself out of the list, while picking former team-mates Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar in the No. 3 and No. 4 spots.

Ganguly's first opening slot was taken up Matthew Hayden, an opponent of the Aussie team of the last decade with whom Ganguly's Indian team had a great rivalry. Alastair Cook was the second opener thanks to his rich run in Tet cricket so far as the Englishman has surpassed Sachin Tendulkar's record of becoming the youngest to reach 10,000 Test runs.

Also, read : McCullum & Sanga’s all time- XIs; The choices that are 'frankly wrong'

Jacques Kallis and Kumar Sangakkara predictably take up the fifth and sixth spot. Sangakkara would take up the gloves for the team. Ganguly also named Australian Ricky Ponting as the captain of the squad – in a grudging gesture of respect to his biggest rival.

A surprise omission was Wasim Akram – arguably the greatest limited-overs bowler of all-time. Instead, he picked Dale Steyn and Glenn McGrath. Finishing up the ranks were the greatest spinners of all-time Shane Warne and Muttiah Muralitharan.

The squad is as follows:

Matthew Hayden (Australia), Alastair Cook (England), Rahul Dravid (India), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Ricky Ponting (Australia, captain), Glenn McGrath (Australia), Shane Warne (Australia), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka), Dale Steyn (South Africa)

Ravi Rampaul or Shane Shillingford? Who will take more wickets?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the CPL T20 challenge and win cash prizes daily!!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

!-- advertising -->