ICC surprises by not having Virat Kohli in Test Team of the year

no photo

© Getty Images

ICC surprises by not having Virat Kohli in Test Team of the year

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


India's Test captain Virat Kohli, who is ranked No 2 in Test currently, does not find a place in the ICC Test team for 2016. Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is the only Indian cricketer in the team that features the likes of Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Steven Smith, and David Warner.

“The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced its Test and ODI Teams of the Year. Former Test stalwarts Rahul Dravid, Gary Kirsten and Kumar Sangakkara selected the sides based on players’ performances in the period from 14 September 2015 to 20 September 2016.

“England’s Alastair Cook has been named as captain of the ICC Test Team of the Year, which includes four Englishmen, three Australians, and a player each from New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka and South Africa.

“This is the third time Cook has been appointed captain of the Test side, while it the eighth time in nine years that Dale Steyn has been selected. Joe Root, David Warner and Kane Williamson have been chosen for the third successive year,” The ICC said in a statement.

Perhaps considering the period during which the performances were considered, the omission of Kohli is not that big a surprise because India had played eight Test matches, against South African and against West Indies, between 14 September 2015 to 20 September 2016. Kohli had batted in 10 innings during that period scoring 451 runs.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2016 (in batting order) is:1. David Warner (Australia)2. Alastair Cook (England) (captain)3. Kane Williamson (New Zealand)4. Joe Root (England)5. Adam Voges (Australia)6. Jonny Bairstow (England) (wicketkeeper)7. Ben Stokes (England)8. R. Ashwin (India)9. Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)10. Mitchell Starc (Australia)11. Dale Steyn (South Africa)12. Steve Smith (Australia)  

Predict LIVE Cricket Matches happening worldwide today! Play from your mobile anytime, anywhere.

Download NostraGamus here to get ₹20 Joining Bonus FREE!

Predict Matches to Win UNLIMITED PayTM Cash Prizes! Over 4,000 winners daily.