Virat Kohli leads Cricket Australia’s Test team of the year

no photo

© Getty Images

Virat Kohli leads Cricket Australia’s Test team of the year

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Hours after the ICC announced its Test team of the year, where Virat Kohli was missing, have revealed their own team of the year where the Indian Test skipper features as the captain. ICC Cricket of the Year Ravichandran Ashwin also features in the team which has just two Australians.

Former Test stalwarts Rahul Dravid, Gary Kirsten, and Kumar Sangakkara selected the ICC’s Test team of year based on players’ performances in the period from 14 September 2015 to 20 September 2016. In a surprising team, Steve Smith and Virat Kohli, ranked No.1 and No.2 respectively in ICC’s Test rankings, did not find a place in the side.

In response, Cricket Australia’s website have decided to publish their own Test team of the year which features Virat Kohli as the captain of the side. writer Martin Smith writes:“Looking at the figures from all Test completed in 2016 – with the Boxing Day clashes of Australia v Pakistan at the MCG and South Africa v Sri Lanka in Port Elizabeth still to play – has come up with a Test XI based on performances in the calendar year.

“No room in our XI either for Australia vice-captain David Warner. He has had a lean 2016 in Test match cricket by his lofty standards. He opened the year in whirlwind fashion with the fastest ever SCG but has not capitalised on his starts since, dismissed for 97 against South Africa in Perth.

“There are six changes in our XI from that compiled by the ICC, who also named a 12th man.”’s Test team of the year (arranged by the batting order):

1. Azhar Ali (Pakistan)

2. Joe Root (England)

3. Steve Smith (Australia)

4. Virat Kohli (India – Captain)

5. Ben Stokes (England)

6. Jonny Bairstow (England)

7. Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

8. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

9. Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)

10. Mitchell Starc (Australia)

11. Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)

Jason Holder or Bhuvneshwar Kumar? Who will take more wickets?

Since start of 2014, Holder has taken 59 wickets at an avg of 34 while Kumar has taken just 38 wickets at an avg of 43. Kumar picked 3 wickets last time he played vs WI at this ground.

Win cash daily by just predicting the right result of matches. Click here to download the game on Android for FREE! To know more, visit