Allegations of ball-tampering by India captain Virat Kohli during the drawn first Test against England in Rajkot by a British tabloid will not come under International Cricket Council’s scrutiny as per specific clauses in the rules and regulations on playing conditions.
As per ICC’s regulations, if a team wants to lodge a ball-tampering complaint it has to be done within five days of the completion of the match. The first Test concluded on Nov 13, and Kohli’s alleged actions were not cited by the match officials or the opposition.
According to a report in Daily Mail on Tuesday: “Footage has emerged of India captain Virat Kohli appearing to shine the ball using residue from a sweet during his country’s draw with England in the first Test.
“Television cameras caught Kohli, who finished on 49 not out on the final day in Rajkot, putting his right hand towards his mouth.
“The 28-year-old can be seen rubbing his fingers in his mouth, inside of which is a sweet. He then appears to shine one side of the ball.”
India lead the five-match series 1-0 after winning the second Test in Visakhapatnam which concluded on Nov 21. The third Test will be played in Mohali from Nov 26 to 30.
Ravi Rampaul or Shane Shillingford? Who will take more wickets?
Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the CPL T20 challenge and win cash prizes daily!!
Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!