TNPL | Dindigul clinch super-over humdinger against Tuticorin

no photo

© TNPL media

TNPL | Dindigul clinch super-over humdinger against Tuticorin

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


In what proved to be a humdinger of a game in the India Cements TN Premier League on Sunday, Dindigul Dragons beat Albert Tuti Patriots in the Super Over at the India Cements Limited Cricket Ground at Sankarnagar in Tirunelveli. With this match, the Dragons have now won all their four matches.

Brief Scores: Albert TUTI Patriots 120 for 9 (Kaushik Gandhi 35, 23b, 5x4, 1x6, Abhinav Mukund 24, 29b, 2x4, MS Sanjay 3/18, M Ashwin 2/19, Sunny Kumar Singh 2/24) lost to Dindigul Dragons 120 for 7 (M Ashwin 61, 48b, 7x4, Aushik Srinivas 2/21, R Vishaal 1/15) in the super-over.

Patriots, who won the toss and elected to bat on a slow wicket, replaced R Vishaal for the veteran Lakshmipathy Balaji. Kaushik Gandhi (35) showed signs of aggression when he hit two consecutive boundaries of MS Sanjay’s over after which the Patriots started to accelerate. Gandhi’s brief stay at the crease came to an end as he lost his wicket to Sanjay (3 for 18) with N Jagadeesan taking a tricky catch behind the wicket off an attempted cut. Jagadessan later effected a stumping off Wilkins Victor (1 for 13) which sent back danger-man Washington Sundar (3).

After skipper Abhinav Mukund’s (24) dismissal, Patriots lost the plot as the middle-order failed to click. Sanjay’s clever left-arm spin choked Patriots and stemmed the run-flow. Even M Ashwin (2 for 19) and Sunny Kumar Singh (2 for 24) were exceptional as Patriots lost six wickets for 37 runs. The lower-order contributed with single digit scores as Patriots ended on 120 for 9.

Aushik Srinivas (2 for 21) and Ganesh Moorthi (0 for 17) struck early as Patriots lost the in-form Jagadeesan (8) in the very first over. Patriots’ slower bowlers were successful in restricting the run-flow and chipped in with regular wickets at crucial intervals. But M Ashwin (61*) played a thoughtful innings as he stood between Patriots and victory. After stitching a 29-run partnership with M Ashwin, Victor (7) was trapped in front by Aushik (2 for 21).

Aswin Crist (1 for 22) came back strongly in the 19th over as he dismissed R Vivek (7) with Sunny Singh (1) being run-out in the very next delivery. But in an interesting twist to the game, Ashwin hit a six off the last delivery of Crist’s over which brought down the equation to six runs in six deliveries. Moorthi (0 for 17) did well to give away only five runs in the last over which ensured that the game went into the Super Over.

Super over

Dindigul Dragons 12/0

Ball 1: Ganesh Moorthi to R Vivek ZERO

Ball 2: Ganesh Moorthi to R Vivek TWO

Ball 3: Ganesh Moorthi to R Vivek FOUR

Ball 4: Ganesh Moorthi to R Vivek ONE

Ball 5: Ganesh Moorthi to Ganga Sridhar Raju FOUR

Ball 6: Ganesh Moorthi to Ganga Sridhar Raju ONE

R Vivek 7 not out, 4b, 1x4, Ganga Sridhar Raju, 5 not out, 2b, 1x4

Albert TUTI Patriots 5/1

Ball 1: T Natarajan to Abhinav Mukund TWO

Ball 2: T Natarajan to Abhinav Mukund ONE

Ball 3: T Natarajan to Anand Subramanian OUT

Ball 4: T Natarajan to Washington Sundar ONE

Ball 5: T Natarajan to Abhinav Mukund ONE

Ball 6: T Natarajan to Washington Sundar ZERO

Abhinav Mukund 4 not out, 3b

Report courtesy: TNPL media

Who will be the PSL champions? Predict Today & WIN Cash Prizes.

Download NostraGamus here to get ₹20 Joining Bonus FREE!

Predict Matches to Win UNLIMITED PayTM Cash Prizes! Over 4,000 winners daily.