MSK Prasad appointed as the new chief selector of the BCCI

no photo

© Getty Images

MSK Prasad appointed as the new chief selector of the BCCI

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


The BCCI has announced the name of former India wicketkeeper MSK Prasad as the chairman of selection committee whereas Ajay Shirke has been reelected as the Secretary. Sarandeep Singh, Gagan Khoda, Devang Gandhi and Jatin Paranjpe are the other four who will will be a part of the selection panel.

On the eve of 87th Annual governing body meeting of the BCCI, as per the expectations, Ajay Shirke has been reelected as the Secretary of the Board while  MSK Prasad has been appointed as the chairman of the selectors. Gagan Khoda, who was appointed as the selector in last November, has retained his place in the committee. 

Prasad who had represented India in six Tests and 17 One-day Internationals, has the experience of 96 first-class matches. 

Following his appointment, the former Indian wicketkeeper said, “It's undoubtedly a great honour. I have a clear-cut vision about how we are heading to the 2019 World Cup,” reported ESPNcricinfo.

He added, “I always have kept notes about what I want to do for the 2017 Champions Trophy, for the 2019 World Cup. There is a lot of planning. The best thing is we have watched as many domestic matches as possible. We have done tours to Zimbabwe, Australia only at the end of the season. Because we have watched so much domestic cricket last year we have a succession chart and jotted down names for three different formats. Sandy bhai's(Sandeep Patil) team has done a fantastic job. It makes more sense for us to continue with it and move ahead."

How many dismissals will Dhoni be involved in?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the SL vs IND ODI challenge and win cash prizes daily!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!