In today's match between Gujarat and RCB, Brendon McCullum almost pulled off, what could have been, the catch of the tournament. Unfortunately, his hat touched the rope and the catch didn't stand. Kohli and Gayle displayed exemplary sportsmanship by congratulating McCullum for his superb effort.
RCB & Gujarat faced off against each other today in the 20th match of Indian Premier League 2017. Gujarat won the toss and Suresh Raina had no hesitation in putting RCB to bat indicating that his side prefers to chase given their strong batting depth.
However, Gayle and Kohli had other plans. After a cautious start, only 13 runs were scored in the first two overs, Kohli, first, upped the ante hitting Kulkarni, one of Gujarat's two changes for the match, for 3 fours in the 3rd over. Thereafter, it was Gayle all the way, as he raced to 28 off 14 balls, hitting a six each off Basil Thampi and
Raina introduced Jadeja into the attack hoping to put a lid on the scoring. After a relatively calm first over, Jadeja returned for a second over and Chris Gayle started eating into him. Gayle hammered Jadeja for 2 boundaries on the third and fourth ball before depositing the fifth over the square leg boundary and into the stands.
Jadeja bowled a full toss on the sixth which Gayle promptly tried to smack out of the ground, only to end up slicing it towards the long-off boundary. McCullum who was at long off, albeit straighter, ran to his right and took a one-handed catch while in the air bringing cheers to the Rajkot fans and his teammates. However, given how close McCullum was to the boundary ropes, the umpires referred the decision to the Third Umpire. While no part of McCullum's body touched the ropes, unfortunately for him his floppy hat touched the boundary and the Third Umpire ruled it not out.
However, given how close McCullum was to the boundary ropes, the umpires referred the decision to the Third Umpire. While no part of McCullum's body touched the ropes, unfortunately for him his floppy hat touched the boundary and the Third Umpire ruled it as not out.
To McCullum's credit,