IPL 2017 | Rohit Sharma fined for dissent for the second time

no photo
 |

bcci

IPL 2017 | Rohit Sharma fined for dissent for the second time

no photo

SportsCafe Desk

04/25/2017

Rohit Sharma has been fined 50% of his match fees for showing dissent at umpire’s decision of not calling a wide ball in the final over of the Mumbai Indians innings during their 3 run defeat to Rising Pune Supergiant at the Wankhede Stadium yesterday. This is Rohit's second fine of the season.

The incident occurred during the final over of Mumbai Indians’ innings against Rising Pune Supergiant, with the hosts still needing 17 runs in their quest for the required 161. Ben Stokes took a blinder of a catch off Jaydev Unadakat’s bowling on the first ball and Rohit smashed the second ball over long- off for six. On the third ball, Rohit moved across his stumps and seeing his movement Unadkat pushed the ball wide. Upon realizing the that the ball was wide, Rohit left it and expected the ball to be called ‘wide’ by umpire S. Ravi.

However, the Mumbai skipper was furious when the decision was not given in his favor by Ravi and Sharma subsequently walked down the pitch to have a heated exchange with Ravi, even as square leg umpire Nandan intervened between the duo.

And as luck would have, Sharma was dismissed off the very next ball after he skied his shot miles high and was caught and bowled by Unadkat. Mumbai went on to lose the game by 3 runs, as Pune completed a double over them this season.

While Pune opener Ajinkya Rahane and Mumbai off-spinner Harbhajan Singh had different takes on the legality of the delivery, both defended Rohit’s reaction.

Rahane was quoted by ESPNcricinfo as saying, "I think it was the right call. Because, as a batsman when you move [across the stumps], that area outside [the off stump] goes to the bowler.”

“Rohit's behaviour at that point was natural. As a captain, as a player, when the game is so close, it comes automatically; nobody does it deliberately. I don't think there was anything wrong with his behavior, but the umpire's call was right too, for us. It happens on the field and remains on the field. In this format, in close games, this will happen in the future as well. You should respect the umpire's decision as well and whatever Rohit did, that was completely natural."

Meanwhile, Harbhajan said,  "I don't really know if it was actually a wide ball or not. I feel if both the legs of the batsmen move across the stumps, then the bowler should get the [benefit of the] margin. But, if you see, only one leg of the batsman went across, so I feel it should have been a wide. But, in the end, whatever is the umpire's decision we have to move on with it."

But at the end of it all, Sharma was fined 50% of his match fees for his reaction by the match referee, as reported by The Hindu.

And an IPL release confirmed the news saying, “Mr Sharma admitted to the Level 1 offence 2.1.5 of the IPL Code of Conduct for Players and Team Officials. This is Mr Sharma’s second Level 1 offence this season. For Level 1 breaches of the IPL Code of Conduct, the Match Referee’s decision is final and binding.”

SHOW COMMENTS