WATCH | Wicket-keeper’s mistake costs Warwickshire five runs and the match

no photo

Getty Images

WATCH | Wicket-keeper’s mistake costs Warwickshire five runs and the match

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


During a cricket match, an error from a wicket-keeper is not a new thing but in a T20 Blast match, it took a heavy toll on Warwickshire. In the match against Worcestershire, wicket-keeper put his helmet on the ground and ball hit it and the umpire gave 5 runs.

In a match, players and umpires do mistakes which are a very common sight nowadays. However, sometimes a minor error costs a team hugely. In a recent NatWest T20 Blast encounter, a wicketkeeping blunder costs the match for Warwickshire.

The incident occurred in the 18th over of the Worcestershire’s innings. Brett D'Oliveira sliced the ball through the wicket-keeper legs, but Alex Mellor's mistake meant the ball went on to hit the helmet which was kept behind him. Umpire gave five-run as a penalty reward to Worcestershire. Later Worcestershire scored 190 runs in allotted 20 overs and in reply Warwickshire were pegged back by tandem spin and only be able to score only 185 runs. 

Now after the loss, the bears' challenge has been subsided and on the other hand, Rapids' qualification push for the playoffs of the league was well and truly rebooted.

You can watch the video here: 

Lasith Malinga or Bhuvneshwar Kumar? Who will take more wickets?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the SL vs IND ODI challenge and win cash prizes daily!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

!-- advertising -->