WATCH | MS Dhoni finds a “new way” to inflict a stumping

no photo
 |

BCCI

WATCH | MS Dhoni finds a “new way” to inflict a stumping

no photo

SportsCafe Desk

12/20/2017

MS Dhoni’s exploits behind the stumps have made him arguably the greatest ever to don the "keeping gloves". But, even after 13 years in international cricket, he has the ability to shock and awe fans as he stumped Asela Gunaratne, off Yuzvendra Chahal’s bowling, without collecting the ball cleanly.

Having shown off his talent with the bat, scoring an unbeaten 39 off 22 balls, the former Indian skipper helped India reach a competitive total of 180/3 in their allotted 20 overs. But his contributions in the game were far from done. He started off by taking a sharp catch to send the dangerous Upul Tharanga packing but he saved his best for Gunaratne.

On the first ball of the tenth over, Chahal bowled a wide down the leg side and the Sri Lankan failed to get any sort of connection, bat or pad, on the ball. Blinded by Gunaratne’s frame, even Dhoni failed to track the ball’s direction. But he did manage to get his gloves on the ball and despite not collecting the ball cleanly, he moved his hands towards the stumps. The umpires did not hesitate for a minute and gave the Lankan batsman his marching orders. Replays suggested that Dhoni had fumbled the ball but due to his hands moving in a forward motion, the ball ricochets back onto the stumps.

While there might be an element of luck involved in the dismissal, “Captain Cool” has done more than enough in his illustrious career to be given a pass on this one.

What will be Carlos Brathwaite's Strike Rate?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the CPL challenge and win cash prizes daily!!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

SHOW COMMENTS
!-- advertising -->