KL Rahul dropped from India’s squad for South Africa ODI series

no photo


KL Rahul dropped from India’s squad for South Africa ODI series

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


BCCI have decided to go with as many as ten frontline batsmen in the ODI series against South Africa next year with KL Rahul getting a surprise snub from the ODI series. However, Kedar Jadhav, who was rested for the Sri Lanka series due to a hamstring injury has found a place in the 17-man squad.

KL Rahul has been in brilliant form of late with two back-to-back fifties against Sri Lanka in the ongoing T20I series. However, it wasn't enough for the 25-year-old to cement a place in India’s ODI squad on their much awaited tour of South Africa next year. 

Apart from him, Umesh Yadav has also been dropped from the 17-member ODI squad that BCCI announced today. Suresh Raina, who had announced, on Twitter, that he had finally passed the Yo-Yo test has also not found a place in the side.

India’s strong batting lineup features Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, and MS Dhoni in the middle order with Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli making up the top three. The board has chosen Ajinkya Rahane as the possible back-up opener for the series.

Hardik Pandya and Axar Patel are featuring as the two all-rounders in the squad with Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal replacing the experienced duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja after the Test series. India’s highly anticipated pace attack will feature  Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, and Shardul Thakur.

The biggest surprise is the selection of Kedar Jadhav in the squad after the all-rounder was dropped for the Sri Lanka series after a suffering a hamstring injury. 

The ODI series is scheduled to start on February 1 in Durban, four days after the three-match Test series ends. While Centurion will host the second ODI on February 4, Cape Town will see the third one on February 7. The fourth and fifth ODIs will be held on February 10 and 13 in Johannesburg and Port Port Elizabeth respectively. The final ODI will be played in Centurion on February 16. 

The ODI series will be followed a three-match T20I series, finally concluding the tour on February 24.

India squad : Virat Kohli (c) Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey