Harsha Bhogle includes MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli in his ODI team of the year

no photo

Getty Images

Harsha Bhogle includes MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli in his ODI team of the year

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Harsha Bhogle has picked his One Day International team of the year for 2014 and handed a place to Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni along with three other Indian players. Surprisingly, no Australian players could find a spot in his XI and but he did pick Afghanistan’s spin master Rashid Khan.

The cricket commentator-cum-analyst picked his ODI team of the year and he claimed that it was not an easy job for him. He not only picked a team but also justified players’ selection above the rest. 

"There is probably going to be a lot of debate over this," Bhogle told Cricbuzz. "I had a lot of doubts in my own mind picking up the eleven."

In his limited over team of the year, he included five Indian and two England players. Along with them, he added a player each from South Africa, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Afghanistan. Interestingly, no player from Australia finds a place in his ODI XI for the year. 

While picking the team, the 56-year-old made sure that no player was placed in a position he does not play in for his country. The batsmen were only selected considering their performance in the particular batting position. 

He chose Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan as an opening duo. Rohit’s comeback after a career-threatening injury forced Bhogle to give him a place without any doubt.

"What about the openers? There is nothing much you can look beyond Rohit Sharma," he said.

He faced a dilemma while picking his partner as he was confused between Dhawan and Hashim Amla and go with the Indian who scored 960 runs in 22 innings at an average of 48.

"There wasn't another left-hander until the sixth, and then I thought I will go in with Dhawan," he explained.

With a strong voice, he picked the Indian skipper for No. 3, who had a great year as in One Day cricket scoring 1460 runs at an average of 76.84 while leading his side to victory in every bilateral ODI series played this year.

"You may think I am being loyal to my country, but you can't look at a better No 3 other than Kohli."

AB de Villiers got a place in the middle order who has had an incredible strike rate of 118-plus in ODIs this year. To strengthen the batting line-up Bhogle picked the former Indian skipper Dhoni, who recently came up with good performances against Sri Lanka.

"He would bring that substance to the batting order," he added.

Bhogle then completed his top six with all-rounder Ben Stokes. Rashid Khan, who came into the limelight during the Indian Premier League, got a place on Bhogle’s list. 

“Just look at those numbers! 16 matches, 43 wickets at an average of 10.44," exclaimed the commentator.

For the next spot, he picked Shakib Al Hasan over Moeen Ali as he was looking for a batsman who could also deliver five to six overs. And Bhogle was more of in search of a spin-all rounder.

For the fast bowling attack, he added Liam Plunkett, Jasprit Bumrah, and Hasan Ali. 

Harsh Bhogle's ODI Team of the year: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni, Ben Stokes, Shakib Al Hasan, Rashid Khan, Liam Plunkett, Jasprit Bumrah, Hasan Ali.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey