Chris Morris, Dale Steyn return to SA Test squad against India

no photo


Chris Morris, Dale Steyn return to SA Test squad against India

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


South Africa will be hosting India with all their might as pacers like Chris Morris and Dale Steyn have been named in the Test series that starts on January 5. This will also be the first time in the last two years that the Proteas will be able to field a full-strength side that is injury free.

With the much-hyped day-night Test match between Zimbabwe taking as little as two days to conclude, South Africa managed to squeeze an extra training session on Thursday. Fast bowler Chris Morris, who had to miss the Port Elizabeth Test owing to his groin strain, has come clean in the session and has replaced Duanne Olivier in the 15-man Test squad.

The star-studded squad will also see the likes of Faf du Plessis and  AB de Villiers returning to the squad with the management expecting the duo to shake off their viral infection just in time. To the fans’ delight, wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock has also been named in the squad, who is recovering from a hamstring injury. The fact that the South African cricket board decided against keeping a backup for de Kock, suggests that the 25-year-old is well ahead of his schedule on the road to recovery.

Quite surprisingly, this will also be the first time that the Proteas will have the luxury of a fully-fit squad since 2015. Last year, while the likes of Steyn, Morne Morkel, and AB de Villiers - all suffered long-term injuries. It was also followed by de Villiers’ absence from the squad last year. 

Ahead of the much-anticipated series against India, SA selectors will now be in dilemma with seven batsmen competing for the available six spots. On the bowling front, five fast bowlers are now ready to fire for the available four places.

South Africa will start their preparations from January 2 for the series that starts on January 5.  The three-match Test series will be followed by a six-match ODI series and three T20Is. 

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey