SportsCafe Readers’ XI: Results for Test team of the year

no photo

© Getty Images

SportsCafe Readers’ XI: Results for Test team of the year

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


As 2016 came to an end, we asked our readers to pick their best cricket team of the year in the SportsCafe Readers' XI for Tests. The results are out and the readers have picked who according to them should be in their team of the year and like always there are some surprising picks in the side.

DISCLAIMER:The team has been selected entirely by audience votes and does not in any way reflect the opinions of SportsCafe.

Opening pair

David Warner and Murali Vijay

After booking a place in the ODI/T20 team of the year, David Warner has now been selected for the Test team as well. Only yesterday, he created history for himself by scoring a century before lunch. India's Murali Vijay and Pakistan's Azhar Ali fought it out for the second place on the team. After some early votes for Ali, it was Vijay who won with 28% of the people voting for him.

 © SportsCafe

Middle order

Virat Kohli, Steven Smith and Faf du Plesssis

Yet again, it was Indian captain Virat Kohli whose performances easily convinced 27% of the readers to vote for him. His performances against England and New Zealand has secured his place in the team. The other two spots had a difference of just 1 percent as Steven Smith and Faf Du Plessis made it into the team as Kane Williamson missed out by the narrowest of margins.

 © SportsCafe


Quinton de Kock

After missing out on the limited overs side, Quinton de Kock finally gets on a team of the year. With an average of 63.18 at a strike-rate of 78.61, it is no surprise that the South African earned more than 50% of the votes.

 © SportsCafe


Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja

After missing out on the nominations for the limited overs teams, both Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were nominated for the Test team places. Unsurprisingly both players edged out Rangana Herath, Yasir Shah, Nathan Lyon, and Adil Rashid.

 © SportsCafe


Mitchell Starc, Vernon Philander and Josh Hazlewood

Mitchell Starc managed to book a place in the Test team as well after being selected for the limited-overs team. South African Vernon Philander's average of 21.90 was enough to convince 14% of our readers to put him in the team. Dale Steyn and Josh Hazlewood were separated by just three votes, but it was the Aussie who edged out the player from South Africa.

 © SportsCafe

Also have a look at the SportsCafe Readers' ODI/T20 XI of 2016.

Predict IPL & WIN CASH! Can you predict the Game?

Join & Play NOW! Click here here to download Nostra Pro & get ₹20 Joining Bonus!

Win cash daily by predicting the right result on Nostragamus. Click here to download the game on Android! To know more, visit