Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul return for Sri Lanka Test series

no photo

Getty Images

Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul return for Sri Lanka Test series

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul have been recalled to the National side for the Test series against Sri Lanka after prolonged injury lay-offs, the BCCI announced today. On the other hand, Karun Nair, who became just the second Indian to register a Test triple century, has been dropped from the squad.

Rohit, who played his last Test against New Zealand in October 2016, didn't play against England, Bangladesh, and Australia during the home season and underwent surgery after injuring his thigh during the ODI series against New Zealand. But after leading Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League, he made a comeback into the national side for the Champions Trophy before being rested for the ongoing West Indies tour in order to remain fresh.

Meanwhile, Karun Nair, who hasn't scored a lot of runs since his epic knock against England last year was dropped from the squad and will lead the India A team for the South Africa series. Similarly, all-rounder Jayant Yadav, who was present in the Indian squad for the series against England and Australia, has also been dropped from the squad for the first away series after a year. 

India's tour of Sri Lanka, in July-September, will begin with a Test in Galle on July 26 followed by Tests in Colombo and Kandy respectively. This will be India's first away Test series since the four-match series against the Windies in July 2016.

Full Squad 

Virat Kohli (Captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, W Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, M Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.

INDIA vs ENGLAND! Will we make it on top? Start Predicting Today!

Play & Win Today! Click here here to download Nostra Pro & get ₹40 Joining Bonus!

Predict Matches & Win Cash!! Play NostraGamus on Android - predict ANY Sport & win upto ₹10 Lakhs! Click here to Download & Get ₹40 Cash Bonus!