WATCH | Tamim Iqbal's over the top celebration on a dropped catch

no photo
 |

Getty

WATCH | Tamim Iqbal's over the top celebration on a dropped catch

no photo

SportsCafe Desk

06/02/2017

After playing a brilliant knock of 128 while batting, Tamim Iqbal claimed an illegitimate catch off Eoin Morgan and even celebrated the effort wildly. However, he was given a reality check when the umpires rightly sided with the Englishman after consulting the third umpire.

This incident took place in the 36th over of the England innings, with England already having scored 204/3. Mashrafe Mortaza delivered a ball to Eoin Morgan and the Englishman tried to chip him for one run, but Tamim sprinted in from long-on, dived forward and he came up with the ball in his hand. No doubt, it was a magnificent effort, especially given Tamim's over the top celebrations that followed the effort.

But the on-field umpires had doubts over Tamim's efforts and they referred the decision to the third umpire. In that period, Tamim even tried to convince the ground umpires about the legitimacy of the catch, but it was all in vain. Replays showed that the ball touched the ground while Tamim tried to complete the difficult effort. The final decision was in the favour of the tournament hosts.

In the end, England went on to win the game by 8 wickets. 

Did you know, Virender Sehwag is the only batsman in the history to have scored 7,500-plus runs in both Tests & ODIs as an opener.

For more fun stats and predictions play the newest fantasy-cum-predictions game in the market – Nostragamus. Download the game by tapping here.

NostraGamus

England or West Indies? Who will win the first test?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the ENG vs WI challenge and win cash prizes daily!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

SHOW COMMENTS