Virat Kohli becomes the fastest to reach the 8000-run milestone in ODIs

no photo


Virat Kohli becomes the fastest to reach the 8000-run milestone in ODIs

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Indian skipper Virat Kohli reached a personal milestone of 8000 runs in the semi-final against Bangladesh and overtook AB de Villiers to become the fastest player to reach the mark with 175 innings. India won the match against Bangladesh by a convincing margin of 9-wickets to advance to the final.

India registered a landslide win against Bangladesh to book a place in the final against their fiercest rivals Pakistan at the Oval on Sunday. Indian skipper Virat Kohli once again led his side from the front with an unbeaten 96 along with Rohit Sharma who scored his first ton of the tournament to chase down 265 with 9.5 overs to spare. Earlier in the game, a terrific Indian bowling lineup restricted Bangladesh to 264 who initially looked to get past the 300-run mark easily.

Kohli needed 88 runs to reach the 8000-runs mark before the match and he did so by taking a single off a Sabbir Rahman delivery to surpass AB de Villiers who took 182 innings to achieve the same feat.

Kohli assuming the first place resulted in former Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly slipping to the third spot with 200 innings and Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar to be displaced to the fourth with 210 innings. 

On the other hand, Shikhar Dhawan continued his exploits in yet another ICC tournament and became the first batsman to score over 300 runs in two editions of the Champions Trophy- 2013 and 2017. The Indian southpaw has been in tremendous form after his return to the Indian ODI side and has scored two half-centuries and a century in the four games. 

Dhawan scored 363 runs from the five matches he played in the 2013 edition to earn the Man of the series award and has scored 317 runs until now in the current edition with his highest score being 125 against Sri Lanka.

The Delhi batsman also overtook Sourav Ganguly to become the highest Indian run-getter in the tournament with 680 runs in opposition to Ganguly's 665 who is followed by Rahul Dravid with 627 runs. He also went past Sachin Tendulkar to become the fastest 1000-run getter in ICC events taking 16 innings to reach the landmark in compariion to Tendulkar's 18 and Ganguly's 20.

Predict IPL & WIN CASH! Can you predict the Game?

Join & Play NOW! Click here here to download Nostra Pro & get ₹20 Joining Bonus!

Win cash daily by predicting the right result on Nostragamus. Click here to download the game on Android! To know more, visit