Smith regrets miscommunication with Marsh: He turned around and started walking

no photo

© Getty Images

Smith regrets miscommunication with Marsh: He turned around and started walking

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


After Shaun Marsh was given out lbw by the umpire, Steve Smith had urged him to go for the review. However, Marsh misunderstood his orders and started walking to the dressing room. Aussie skipper Smith has regretted this communication breakdown at a crucial juncture in the game.

In the 15th over, Umesh Yadav trapped Shaun Marsh lbw and his appeal was upheld by the umpire as Australia lost their third wicket for 67 runs while chasing 188 on the fourth day of the second Test in Bengaluru. The replays, however, showed that the ball missed the stumps, and the decision would have been reversed had Australia opted for the DRS.

After the match, Smith revealed that there had been a miscommunication between him and Marsh which resulted in the loss of that wicket. The Australian skipper said he had asked Marsh to go for the review, but the southpaw walked off. 

"We weren't entirely sure. I sort of said 'go'. As in go, have a look at it. He sort of turned around and started walking, so I should have probably put my hands up and done it. Obviously we saw with the replay it was missing the stumps, so it would have been a nice one to have reviewed," Smith told a post-match news conference.

"Shaun was looking pretty good, so it was a disappointing wicket. But that's the game of cricket. You have to move on and try and do what you can from there," Smith added.

Chahal or Axar? Who will take more wickets for India?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the SL vs IND ODI challenge and win cash prizes daily!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

!-- advertising -->