Glenn Maxwell to lead Kings XI Punjab in IPL-10

no photo

© Getty

Glenn Maxwell to lead Kings XI Punjab in IPL-10

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Glenn Maxwell has been named the captain of Kings XI Punjab side for the 10th edition of the IPL, the franchise revealed yesterday. Maxwell will take over the reins from Murali Vijay, who was named captain midway through the season last year, after the David Miller was relieved of the captaincy.

The change has been announced after the Punjab franchise finished rock bottom last season with just four wins in 14 games. South African batsman David Miller led the team the team at the start of the campaign but he was relieved of his duties midway through the season. Vijay succeeded Miller but it was too late for him to change the fortune of the franchise. 

Maxwell, known for his big-hitting abilities, has never captained a side in the 338 matches he has played across formats. Surprisingly, he has been chosen ahead of Eoin Morgan, who captained England to the World T20 final in 2016, and Darren Sammy, who led West Indies to two T20 World Cup titles.

Maxwell, who was instrumental in Punjab's run to the final in the 2014 edition of the IPL by racking up 552 runs in 16 matches at a remarkable strike rate of 187.75, had quite underwhelming seasons in 2015 and 2016, managing just 324 runs in 22 matches with only two fifties. 

Kings XI Punjab will start their campaign by playing against the Steve Smith-led Rising Pune Supergiants on April 8 in Indore - their second home venue this season after Mohali.

In the last 5 IND vs SA ODIs, SA was bowled out twice, while IND was bowled out only once.

Will either team be able to bowl their opponent out? Predict on Nostragamus now! Join IND vs SA challenge and win up to ₹40,000.

Download Nostragamus for FREE and get ₹20 Joining Bonus! Click here to download app on Android.