Records and numbers from the 2017 Indian Premier League

no photo


Records and numbers from the 2017 Indian Premier League

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


The 10th edition of the Indian Premier League has come to an end, with Mumbai Indians winning the third title to put them at the top of the IPL hierarchy. This season of the league has provided some memorable moments and has also seen records tumble. Here are some that you might want to know.

2 -Sunrisers Hyderabad became only the second team in the history of Indian Premier League to have both Orange and Purple cap winners in their team simultaneously, with David Warner (641 runs) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (26 wickets) winning the caps respectively. Earlier, the CSK pair of Michael Hussey and Dwayne Bravo had achieved the feat in the 2013 edition of the tournament. 

3 -Mumbai Indians won the third IPL title, surpassing the returning Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders, who have each won the coveted trophy twice.

3 -Kings XI Punjab batsman Hashim Amla became only the third player, after Chris Gayle (2011) and Virat Kohli (2015), to score multiple centuries in the same season of IPL. But unfortunately for him, both of his centuries came in losing causes.

4 - Number of IPL trophies won by Rohit Sharma as a player - three with Mumbai Indians and one with Deccan Chargers - which makes him the only player to have played in four winning finals. 

4 - No. of times Royal Challengers Bangalore had ten batsmen dismissed this year, which is the second-most for any team in an IPL season, after the now-defunct Deccan Chargers’ unwanted record of five matches in 2010. 

8.41 - It was the run rate in the 2017 edition of the IPL, which is the highest among all seasons. Last year, the number stood at 8.37, which was marginally lesser than this season.

9.53 - KKR’s run rate for this season in the Powerplay overs, which is the highest for any side in a season, with the previous best being CSK's 8.70 in 2014. Their 105 against RCB in Bengaluru was the highest-ever score inside the powerplay in the history of IPL against beating CSK's record. 

19 - Number of times Rohit Sharma perished to leg spinners in IPL - the most by any player. In this season alone he was dismissed six times to the wrist-spinners, scoring at an average of 11.17 per dismissal.

26 - The number of wickets taken by Bhuvneshwar Kumar in this season of the IPL, which is the highest by an Indian bowler in a single season. Jaydev Unadkat accounted for 24 wickets - the joint second most along with Harbhajan Singh who took the same number of wickets in 2013. 

49 - The lowest ever score in an IPL innings by a team was achieved by Royal Challengers Bangalore this year when they succumbed to just 49 runs in just 9.4 overs. 

62 - Number of wickets lost by the Sunrisers this season, which is the fewest ever for a team in a season of the IPL. They broke the record of Rising Pune Supergiants which lost just 67 wickets across 14 games last year.

108 - The number of balls bowled by Ishant Sharma for Kings XI Punjab in this season, which is the highest for a bowler in an IPL season without taking a wicket. Earlier, the unwanted record belonged to Karn Sharma, who bowled 98 wicketless deliveries last year.

143 - It is the difference in runs between the top two run-getters of the seasons - David Warner (641) and Gautam Gambhir (498), which the joint most in a season in IPL. Ironically, in 2012, Gambhir (590) was again on the wrong side of the record when he fell 143 runs short of Chris Gayle (733).

146 - The biggest margin of victory in IPL history was achieved by Mumbai over Delhi beating the previous record set by Bangalore against Gujarat last year.

641 - Amount of runs scored by Warner in IPL 2017 - the fourth successive season in which he scored more than 500 runs which is the most in a row by any player. He also became the second player after Chris Gayle (in 2011 and 2012) to end up as the leading run-scorer in a season twice after scoring 562 in 2015.

Easier than picking 11 Players, Predict Cricket Matches in 2 minutes!

Predict IND vs AF, Royal London Cup & More matches from around the world! Download here Now!

Win Cash Everyday on NostraGamus! Play Now on Android & predict matches of ANY Sport! Click here to Download Now & Get ₹40 Cash Bonus!!