New Zealand to host the 2018 U-19 World Cup

no photo

Getty Images

New Zealand to host the 2018 U-19 World Cup

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


New Zealand will host their third U-19 World Cup starting Jan 13 next year. The 2018 edition will feature 48 matches and will be played at seven venues in Christchurch, Queenstown, Tauranga and Whangarei. West Indies are the defending champions while India last won the crown in 2012.

New Zealand previously hosted the competition in 2002 and 2010. In Christchurch, the matches will be played at Hagley Oval, Rangiora Oval, Bert Sutcliffe Oval and Lincoln No 3. Matches in Queenstown, Tauranga and Whangarei will be played at the John Davies Oval. Bay Oval and Cobham Oval respectively.

The previous U-19 World Cup that New Zealand hosted saw Australia beat Pakistan in the final. The edition also featured current biggies like Ben Stokes, KL Rahul, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Marsh, Jason Holder, Shane Dowrich, Kraigg Brathwaite, Babar Azam, Doug Bracewell and Sabbir Rahman.

India won the 2012 title in Townsville followed by South Africa in 2014 and West Indies in 2016.  

Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Brendon McCullum, Tim Southee, Kane Williamson and Steven Smith have all played in the U-19 World Cup in the past.

“These are the future stars of cricket, the next generation coming through on to the international stage,” ICC CEO Dave Richardson said, highlighting the importance of the youth tournament. “This tournament is a stepping stone in the development of not just players, but match officials too.”

What will be Carlos Brathwaite's Strike Rate?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the CPL challenge and win cash prizes daily!!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!