WATCH | MS Dhoni saves the day after Bumrah's harrowing fielding error

no photo


WATCH | MS Dhoni saves the day after Bumrah's harrowing fielding error

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


MS Dhoni aptly answered the critics who doubted his place in the Indian side as he inflicted a game-changing runout after Bumrah had repeated his faulty throw from the pitch and missed. Dhoni, however, took matters into his own hands and through a Pandya throw, sent Tom Bruce back to the pavilion.

After the third T20I was reduced to an eight-over game by rains and India could post only 67 runs in the first innings, Virat Kohli knew that fielding was the biggest weapon his side had in defending such a small target. After New Zealand were almost flawless on the field, India responded brilliantly when they took the field, pushing themselves up a level under pressure and showing why they are considered as the best side in limited-overs cricket.

The incident happened in the seventh over when Tom Bruce was facing Jasprit Bumrah and New Zealand were reduced to 47/5, needing 21 runs off the last eight balls. The right-hander missed the fuller delivery trying to reverse sweep it and ran for a bye. It was bound to be a close call and after Dhoni looped it to Bumrah who was waiting in the middle of the pitch, he attempted a reckless throw at the bowler’s end yet again instead of taking a more assuring alternative and this time he missed the wood.

Bumrah has been warned time and again by Dhoni to refrain from a throw and instead run to the stumps. The missed throw went to Pandya, who was standing at mid-on. Sensing the misfield, Colin de Grandhomme called for another run and an unsettled Bruce went for it. But Dhoni, who was alert all this time, stood at the striker’s end and showed brilliant reactions to collect the ball and dismantle the stumps adjacent to him. The third umpire was called into action, who found Bruce to be well short.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey