Virender Sehwag appointed as member of NADA’s Anti-Doping Appeal Panel

no photo

Getty Images

Virender Sehwag appointed as member of NADA’s Anti-Doping Appeal Panel

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Virender Sehwag and former Delhi player Vinay Lamba have been appointed as members NADA’s Anti-Doping Appeal Panel (ADAP) yesterday. While cricketers are not usually a part of NADA panels, the news comes after the WADA realized that the BCCI did not recognize the authority of NADA.

Sehwag will be joined on the panel by Lamba, who represented Delhi in 76 first-class matches between 1967 and 1981. The six-member panel, that also includes advocate Vibha Datta Makhija, Dr Naveen Dang, and Harsh Mahajan, and will be led by retired judge R V Easwar.

The panel had a meeting that lasted for two hours yesterday. However, PTI quoted sources saying that that Sehwag was not present for the meeting.

NADA have also appointed an Anti-Doping Disciplinary Panel (ADDP) which includes international players such as Kunjarani Devi (weightlifting), Akhil Kumar (boxing), Reeth Abraham (athletics), Jagbir Singh (hockey), and Rohit Rajpal (tennis). The ADDP will be led by retired district and sessions judge Kuldeep Singh while the other members include the likes of Manik Dogra (advocate), Nalin Kohli (advocate) and Bina Gupta (advocate), and Surbhi Mehta (advocate), Vinod Dogra, Dr Ankit Sharma, and Dr Chengappa.

All doping case will be first heard by the ADDP and then can be referred to the ADAP.

India or Sri Lanka? Who will win the 2nd ODI?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the SL vs IND ODI challenge and win cash prizes daily!

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

!-- advertising -->