India to play Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in T20I series in March

no photo


India to play Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in T20I series in March

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


According to a Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) press release, India have agreed to play a T20 tri-series alongside neighbours Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in March next year. The three-team series, which will be called the Nidahas Trophy, will mark the 70th anniversary of Sri Lanka’s independence.

The release confirmed that a total of seven T20Is will be played between March 8 and 20 in Colombo’s Premadasa Stadium. Every team will have to play two matches against each other before the top two take part in the final on March 20.

SLC president Thilanga Sumathipala was also responsible for the Nidahas Trophy played in 1998, which had marked the 50th anniversary of the country's independence. On that occasion, they had been joined by India and New Zealand in the series – one that India had won.

"We are privileged to be a part of Sri Lanka's 70th year celebrations, there is no closer friend to the BCCI than Sri Lanka [and Bangladesh] and when Mr. Sumathipala first floated this invitation, there was almost instant agreement that the Indian Team would participate for this reason," Rahul Johri said, reported Cricinfo.

"70 years is a long journey and one that needs to be commemorated and celebrated. We are happy that our closest neighbours, who share more or less the same journey of independence, are joining us in this celebration, which we believe will be a milestone and an augur of the great things to come in the annals of cricket," Sumathipala said, echoing Johri’s statements. 

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey