WATCH | Jadeja does a Bumrah as Karunaratne is saved by no-ball

no photo


WATCH | Jadeja does a Bumrah as Karunaratne is saved by no-ball

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


India were handed a defeat in the 2017 Champions Trophy final after a century by Fakhar Zaman, who had been dismissed on a no-ball by Jasprit Bumrah. However, it appears India have not learned their lesson yet as Dimuth Karunaratne was handed a second life after R Jadeja dismissed him on a no-ball.

After the first Test of the three-match series ended as a draw, the match in Nagpur was seen by most as one that would provide a result. It was Sri Lanka who won the first battle by deciding to bat first after winning the toss. However, the Indian bowlers ensured that the visitors did not get any easy balls and restricted them to 44/2. But it could have gotten better for the hosts. 

On the last ball of the 26th over, Jadeja dragged Karunaratne, who was batting at 21, out of his crease and beat him with a little turn. Wriddhiman Saha collected the ball and in the blink of an eye, whipped off the bails. The Indian team started celebrating because the Sri Lankan looked well short of his crease. However, to be sure, the leg official sent the decision to the third umpire. 

As the current rules dictate, the third umpire checked to see if the bowler had overstepped his mark before checking if the stumping was clean. However, Nigel Llong, the third umpire, didn't have to check the latter as Jadeja had overstepped the crease by a good margin. This resulted in Karunaratne keeping his wicket and Sri Lanka being awarded an additional run. Had Jadeja not overstepped his mark, the replays suggested that Karunaratne would have had to make the long walk back to the dressing room.

Karunaratne ended up scoring 51 runs and the incident brought back memories from the 2017 Champions Trophy final where riding Zaman's century, Pakistan beat India in a one-sided final.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey