Recently, the ICC implemented the rule that the teams would not lose a review on the Umpire’s call on an lbw decision. However, for the first time, India faced the brunt of the new rule in which New Zealand was allowed to retain the review even though Kane Williamson was declared out after review.
The idea of staying with the umpire's call on DRS was to discourage players from marginal reviews and to maintain the sanctity of the on-field umpire's decision. To an extent, it's also an acknowledgment of technology not being 100% accurate. So the ICC implemented a new rule where the two teams playing on the field would not lose a review on the Umpire’s call on an lbw decision even if the decision remained the same after the third umpire reviewed the decision. But, India hadn't experienced the rule until today.
On the fourth ball of the sixth over of the match, Williamson was at the receiving end of some excellent bowling from Jasprit Bumrah, who pulled back the length a bit. Williamson tried to go for a flick but was beaten as the ball hit his front pad. As the Indians started appealing for the wicket, the umpire was quick to declare the Kiwi skipper out, but the latter, after a short discussion with his partner at the other end, Colin Munro, decided to go for a review, hoping the height issue would come to his rescue.
The third umpire, Michael Gough, after checking the ball tracker, decided to retain his colleague's call and ruled Williamson out for 3. But given it was umpire's call, since the ball had just clipped the bails, the visitors didn't lose the review.
India or Sri Lanka? Who will win the 2nd ODI?
Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, including Cricket. Play the SL vs IND ODI challenge and win cash prizes daily!
Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!