The only T20I between India and Sri Lanka was played on September 6 where Sri Lanka not only faced a loss, but also became victims of a comical blunder during the toss. Now, Sri Lanka Cricket released an edited video clip on Twitter to attempt to put an end to the confusion.
The India-Sri Lanka series ended but the post-mortem continued with news surrounding a comical incident that happened in the last match of the tour. The sole T20 match of the Sri Lanka-India series was played in Colombo on Wednesday and Indian skipper Kohli, after "winning" the toss, invited Sri Lanka to bat first. Even though the hosts started well, they could only manage to post a par score of 170 on a wet wicket.
The match ended without any controversy as India won the match by 7 wickets, but, if one rolls back the match footage then people realized it was not Kohli who won the toss. As per the tradition, the official presenter Murali Kartik introduced both captains, the match referee Andy Pycroft, and toss representative Gautam. Tharanga flipped the coin into the air and Kohli called for heads. The coin traveled a bit from the players and Pycroft, who followed the coin, seemed to utter tails, but surprisingly awarded the toss to India. Kartik failed to realize the gaffe and quickly announced that it was heads and proceeds to ask the Indian skipper what he would like to do first.
Before the camera focused on Kartik and Kohli, Pycroft, on seeing the toss being given to India, seemed to be a bit bemused, but failed to take any action to rectify the error.
There were some reports that the Sri Lanka cricket board was considering lodging a complaint about the incident.
For now, the Lankan board took to Twitter to clarify the situation, stating that "Match Referee Andy PYCROFT called it correctly - "Heads India". Along with the tweet they posted the incident video where they enhanced the Pycroft's audio, but the toss on the matter is still up in the air. You can call it for yourself here.