Vijay Hazare Trophy : Gautam Gambhir and Ishant Sharma to miss tournament start

no photo


Vijay Hazare Trophy : Gautam Gambhir and Ishant Sharma to miss tournament start

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Syed Mushtaq Ali Champions, Delhi will be without the likes of Gautam Gambhir and Ishant Sharma for their first few games of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. In Ishant’s absence, it will be Pradeep Sangwan who will lead the Delhi side for the first two games of the Round-Robin and Playoff format tournament.

The T20 zonal champions announced their squad for the upcoming Vijay Hazare trophy that will start on February 5. The team has included the experienced duo of Ishant and Gambhir in their side. However, Gambhir, who has a list A batting average of 36.45, and Ishant, who has taken 167 list A wickets, will miss a few matches of the tournament. 

Gambhir, who is suffering from an ankle injury, has been advised to take a ten-day rest which has ruled him out of the league phase of the tournament. Ishant, on the other hand, has requested for some time to recover after his stint with the Indian Test side in South Africa. 

In his absence, the team will be led by Pradeep Sangwan, who was also captaining the team during the Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament, for the first two games, after which Isnat will take over as the captain of the side. 

Rishabh Pant, Hiten Dalal, Dhruv Shorey, Nitish Rana, Unmukt Chand, Navdeep Saini, Kulwant Khejroliya, Suboth Bhati, Pawan Negi, Manan Sharma, Kshitiz Sharma, and Lalit Yadav are the remaining members of the Delhi contingent for the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Mumbai have named talented youngster Prithvi Shaw in their squad for the tournament as well. Shaw, who is currently with the U-19 side in New Zealand, is the second highest run scorer for the Indian team in the U-19 World Cup and has led the side from the front in being the only undefeated team in the tournament.

Prithvi Shaw will be joined by captain Aditya Tare, Dhawal Kulkarni (vice-captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Akhil Herwadkar, Jay Bista, Shivam Dube, Shashank Singh, Eknath Kerkar, Aakash Parker, Dhrumil Matkar, Royston Dias, Shams Mulani, Shubham Ranjane and Shivam Malhotra in the squad for the tournament.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey