Raynard van Tonder chosen over Prithvi Shaw as captain of ICC U-19 Team of tournament

no photo


Raynard van Tonder chosen over Prithvi Shaw as captain of ICC U-19 Team of tournament

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Despite leading India to the title, India U-19 skipper Prithvi Shaw has not been selected as the captain of the team of the tournament rather the honour went to SA leader Raynard van Tonder. However, five Indian players have made it to the list after their brilliant show in the tourney.

India proved to be a far more superior team than any other teams in the recently-concluded Under-19 World Cup and be it in the batting, bowling or intensity on the field, they made sure that the target never went out of reach and that culminated with the team lifting the cup at the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui. Several youngsters rose to the occasion through the course of the tournament, led by Shubman Gill, who scored an eye-catching 372 runs which included three fifties and a century. He got enough support from his partner Prithvi Shaw and Manjot Kalra and while all three have been a part of the ICC Team of the tournament, the ICC decided to go with South Africa captain Raynard van Tonder to lead the side which has representation from six countries.

Van Tonder scored a total of 348 runs in six matches including a match-winning 143 against Kenya and was selected for his better cricket acumen, the ICC said in a statement. Other than van Tonder, South African players like wicket-keeper Wandile Makwetu and fast bowler Gerald Coetzee have also been selected in the team. Makwetu managed to secure 11 wickets during the tournament besides some useful runs while fast bowler Gerald Coetzee finished with eight wickets in the tournament.

The team of the tournament has all top three of the Indian batting order – Shaw, who scored 261 runs, player of the final Manjot Kalra, who aggregated 252 runs, and player of the tournament Shubman Gill. Left-arm spinner Anukul Roy, who picked up 14 wickets in the series and pacer Kamlesh Nagarkoti, who managed 9 wickets in the tournament, are the other Indians named in the world team.

The team was picked by a five-man selection panel comprised legendary West Indian pacer Ian Bishop, former India women's team captain and commentator Anjum Chopra, former New Zealand skipper Jeff Crowe, ESPN Cricinfo journalist Shashank Kishore and former Australia all-rounder and reputed coach Tom Moody.


Prithvi Shaw (India), Manjot Kalra (India), Shubman Gill (India), Finn Allen (New Zealand), Raynard van Tonder (South Africa, captain), Wandile Makwetu (wicket-keeper) (South Africa), Anukul Roy (India), Kamlesh Nagarkoti (India), Gerald Coetzee (South Africa), Qais Ahmad (Afghanistan), Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan).

12th man: Alick Athanaze (West Indies).

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey