Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah part of ESPN’s T20 team of the year

no photo

Getty Images

Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah part of ESPN’s T20 team of the year

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Virat Kohli failed to break into ESPNcricinfo’s T20 team of the year with just Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah making the cut from the Indian contingent. The online portal picked Rohit to lead the team and England’s Jos Buttler was picked over MS Dhoni for the wicket-keeper position in the team.

In the shortest format of the game, the website included only two Indians and three players from West Indies. Along with them, they added a player each from New Zealand, South Africa, Australia, England, Pakistan, and Afghanistan. No player from Bangladesh was able to find a place in the T20 XI for the year. 

While one would expect names like Rohit, who became the joint fastest T20I centurion alongside David Miller reaching the milestone in 35 balls, and Chris Gayle, who charged Rangpur Riders to win the Bangladesh Premier League with a stupendous 146-run knock off 69 balls, they went with West Indian power hitter Evin Lewis and Brendon McCullum

To strengthen the middle order, South Africa’s Hashim Amla, who scored 1277 runs with 132.60 strike rate in 43 games, got the place alongside Rohit. After Butler, in the lower down the order, all-rounders Dan Christian and Kieron Pollard got the responsibility to make an explosive finish.

Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan, who came into the limelight during the last year’s Indian Premier League, joined the bowling department with Sunil Narine, Hasan Ali, and Jasprit Bumrah.

1. Evin Lewis

2. Brendon McCullum

3. Hashim Amla

4. Rohit Sharma

5. Jos Buttler

6. Dan Christian

7. Kieron Pollard

8.  Sunil Narine

9.  Rashid Khan

10.  Hasan Ali

11. Jasprit Bumrah

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey