Virat Kohli, Steve Smith and Cheteshwar Pujara feature in ICC Test team of the year

no photo


Virat Kohli, Steve Smith and Cheteshwar Pujara feature in ICC Test team of the year

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Virat Kohli, along with Cheteshwar Pujara and R Ashwin, has been picked in the ICC Team of the year with the Indian skipper being chosen to lead that side as well. South Africa and Australia also have three representatives in the team while English players grabbed the last two places.

The ICC decided to go with six proper batsmen in their side along with three pacers and two all-rounders. For the opening pairing, they decided to go ahead with South African opener Dean Elgar who scored 1,386 runs in 16 matches at an impressive average of 49.50. To partner the Proteas star, the ICC picked Australian hard-hitter David Warner. The Aussie, in 16 matches, scored 1,421 runs at an average of 49.00 with 5 centuries and as many half-centuries.

For the number three spot, they went with Virat Kohli, who was also picked to lead the side after scoring an astonishing 2,023 runs at a rate of 77.80 per match with 8 centuries, that included four doubles, and 3 half-centuries. Steve Smith was the next one on the sheet after he scored at an average of 78.12 amassing 1,875 runs. To complete the batting lineup Cheteshwar Pujara was chosen after the Indian averaged a cool 63.80 thanks to his 7 centuries and 9 half-centuries in the season.

The first of the all-rounders was unsurprisingly Ben Stokes, who England missed terribly in the Ashes. The Englishman had scored 1,000 runs at a rate of 40.00 in his 14 matches before he was suspended and had scalped 35 wickets at just 27.68 runs per dismissal. South African keeper Quinton de Kock edged out his Indian counterpart Wriddhiman Saha after scoring 1,006 along with inflicting 67 dismissals as well.

The second all-rounder spot fell to the only spinner in the team - Ravichandran Ashwin. The Indian, who claimed 111 wickets in 19 matches, also contributed 616 runs at an average of 25.66 with the bat to cement his place in the squad.

The pace-bowling unit consisted of Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, and James Anderson. While the Aussie has claimed 52 wickets in 11 matches, the South African had 76 wickets at an average of just 21.47 that also saw him rise to the top of the bowlers' rankings. Anderson, on the other hand, finished the season with an average of 20.01 to lay stake to the final spot on the list.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey