Chamari Athapaththu returns to lead Sri Lanka women's T20 squad

no photo

Chamari Athapaththu returns to lead Sri Lanka women's T20 squad

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Chamari Athapaththu has been selected to lead the Sri Lankan women's cricket team for the T20 series against India which is scheduled to begin from September 19. Athapaththu missed the Asia Cup as she was down with dengue but is now included in the T20 squad along with six other new players.

Last year's Sri Lankan women's cricketer of the year, Athapaththu is known for her aggressive batting and is the only Sri Lankan woman cricketer to have hit an ODI century and she also holds a record for scoring the most number of 100s and 50s in the history of Sri Lankan women's cricket. Her 178 not out is the highest by any Sri Lankan women's player in ODI cricket. She has always led the team at all the tournaments but was unfortunately compelled to pull out of the Asia Cup because she was down with dengue. 

However, she has successfully recovered and is back in the team for their T20 series against India which begins from tomorrow. Six other players - Kavisha Dilhari, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Ama Kanchana, Sripali Weerakkody, Imalka Mendis and Dilani Manodara are also included in the squad. 

Dilhari has played only two ODIs for Sri Lanka but the series against the Indians will be her first T20 series. She also played in the Asia Cup final ODI against India recently and picked up one wicket and scored 12 runs. Senior player Lokusuriyage has also been recalled after playing her last match in July 2017. Similarly, Kanchana is also making a comeback after missing out in the Asia Cup.

Certain experienced players like Inoshi Priyadharshani, Inoka Ranaweera, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Nipuni Hansika, Malsha Shehani, Achini Kulasuriya and Harshitha Madavi haven't found a place the T20 squad against India.

Sri Lanka squad: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Yasoda Mendis, Hasini Perera, Shashikala Siriwardena, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Nilakshi de Silva, Ama Kanchana, Rebeca Vandort, Kavisha Dilhari, Sripali Weerakkody, Sugandika Kumari, Anushka Sanjeewani, Udeshika Prabodhini, Imalka Mendis, Dilani Manodara

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey