WATCH | Delhi Capitals take two separate reviews at once after Amit Mishra’s shenanigans

no photo
 |

Twitter

VIDEO | Delhi Capitals take two separate reviews at once after Amit Mishra’s shenanigans

no photo

SportsCafe Desk

05/09/2019

With the need for high entertainment quotient in modern cricket, has also come the need for new rules that get added to the sacred book almost every year now. But players and umpires are yet to get a complete grasp of them as was evident in Amit Mishra’s dismissal during the first IPL eliminator.

Delhi Capitals’ master planning ahead of the season seems to be working well this year as the franchise from the capital city won an IPL knockout for the first time ever. Visakhapatnam had the track to make the first eliminator a thriller in every sense and the match lived up to it as the outcome had to wait till the second last ball.

However, more than the close nature of the game, the discussions would actually be about the controversial moments in it. If it was Keemo Paul’s rugby tackle on Deepak Hooda that was the talk at halftime, Mishra clearly outplayed it by trying to change courses in the middle of his run to keep the on-field and the third umpires baffled for minutes before eventually being called out.

Delhi’s inexperienced squad has often been suicidal this season and last evening was one such occasion when after almost playing a winner’s knock, Rishabh Pant’s careless dismissal in the 19th over had left the fans a lot to imagine. The Capitals were left with Mishra and Keemo Paul to get the job done and the match was far from over.

The players could feel the heat and it was evident in the very next over as after struggling to connect Khaleel Ahmed’s deliveries, Mishra decided to just run even without touching it. Saha was quick to collect it and aim at the nearest stump but the ball escaped them and went to Ahmed. The bowler picked it up and tried going at his end only to see Mishra changing his running lane to cover his throw as the ball hit his arm.

Sunrisers Hyderabad were confident it was out and went upstairs after realizing that the field umpires had no clue of the new rule - which clearly states that the batter obstructing the throw has to go. The third umpire checked the appeal of caught-behind-wicket and said “Not Out” as a buzz spread across the stadium. However, we could soon see SRH opting to take another review at Mishra’s running.

This time, the replay showed that Mishra was the culprit for obstructing the field by changing his direction mid-way and the decision was reversed. It was absolute madness!

CLICK HERE TO WATCH VIDEO

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey

SportsCafe

SHOW COMMENTS