FIFA introduce 'Best Football Awards' where fans' vote will count

no photo

© Getty Images

FIFA introduce 'Best Football Awards' where fans' vote will count

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Fans globally will be able to vote for the world player of the year, FIFA announced on Monday, after the sport’s world governing body had split with the Ballon d'Or. Player of the year is one of eight awards that fans will vote for and the inaugural ceremony is scheduled for January.

However, this is not the first time that FIFA have held their own awards ceremony. Between 1991 and 2009 FIFA had awarded the world player of the year that was independent of the Ballon d'Or before it was decided that the Ballon d'Or would be the player of the year award.

This time around, fans will have a say.

The voting system is divided into three major categories. Fifty per cent of the result will be decided through the votes of captains and head coaches of all the national teams registered with FIFA. Twenty-five per cent will be decided by over 200 media representatives from across the world, while an online poll will decide the remaining quarter of the votes.

FIFA will announce a 23-man shortlist for the men's award on Friday that will be pruned to just three on Dec 2.

The awards:

The Best Fifa Men's Player 2016

The Best Fifa Women's Player 2016

The Best Fifa Men's Coach 2016

The Best Fifa Women's Coach 2016

The Fifa Puskas Award 2016 (Goal of the year)

The Fifa Fair Play Award 2016

The Fifa Fan Award 2016

Fifa FifPro World11 (Team of the year)

Otamendi or Adam Smith? Who will make more tackles?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, inlcuding Football. Play the Premier League challenge and win cash prizes daily.

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

!-- advertising -->