Ronaldo wins FIFA best player of the year award

no photo


Ronaldo wins FIFA best player of the year award

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Portuguese star Cristiano Ronaldo has won FIFA's inaugural best player of the year award after a stunning 2016 season with both club and country. Claudio Ranieri, who coached Leicester City to a fairytale victory in the Premier League last year, was given the best men's coach award.

Ronaldo helped Real Madrid win the Champions League title by scoring 16 goals and the 30-year-old followed that by leading his country to an unlikely victory at the 2016 Euros in France.

Ronaldo has already won the Ballon d'Or award for 2016, edging out Lionel Messi, and beat both Messi and Frenchman Antoine Griezmann to the FIFA honour. Ronaldo received the award from FIFA president Gianni Infantino.

“2016 was the best year of my career. It was a year that was magnificent at a personal level and at a sports level,” he said at the awards function.

Meanwhile, US women midfielder Carli Lloyd won the best women's player of 2016. 

Spanish league La Liga accounted for nine of the 11 players in the FIFPro team of the year, including Ronaldo and Messi. Ronaldo was joined by his Real Madrid team-mates Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Toni Kroos and Luka Modric. The side comprised four Barcelona players with Messi, Gerard Pique, Andres Iniesta and Luis Suarez.

Otamendi or Adam Smith? Who will make more tackles?

Presenting Nostragamus, the first ever prediction game that covers all sports, inlcuding Football. Play the Premier League challenge and win cash prizes daily.

Download the app for FREE and get Rs.20 joining BONUS. Join 30,000 other users who win cash by playing NostraGamus. Click here to download the app for FREE on android!

!-- advertising -->