user tracker image

Super Cup | Indian Arrows qualify for main round after knocking Kerala Blasters out by 2-0 goals

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


Super Cup | Indian Arrows qualify for main round after knocking Kerala Blasters out by 2-0 goals

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Amarjit Singh struck twice in the 39th and 77th minutes to script an impressive victory for Indian Arrows over Kerala Blasters FC in the qualification round of the second edition of Super Cup at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneshwar. The young team will now face FC Goa in the Round of 16 on March 30.

The 18-year-old captain gave the Arrows the lead in the 39th minute and then converted from the spot in the 77th minute after Blasters defender Anas Edathodika handled the ball in front of goal.

Indian Arrows, revived by the AIFF in 2017, after their disbanding, have made a case for themselves with this remarkable win.

The revived side is the only I-League club playing in the tournament, as the other clubs have boycotted the tournament citing unfair treatment from the All India Football Federation (AIFF). As a result, The first match of the qualification round was called off earlier in the day after former I-League champions Minerva Punjab did not turn up against ISL side FC Pune City.

Gokulam Kerala and Aizawl, who are scheduled to play on Saturday against Delhi Dynamos and Chennaiyin FC respectively did not turn up for the pre-match press conference on Friday. Aizawl FC stated that they will not play against Chennaiyin FC on Saturday.

"As of now, we are not going to play against Chennaiyin on Saturday. Nothing has come from the side of the AIFF and it seems nothing is going to happen also. We (eight clubs) will remain united and we will take a collective decision," Aizawl FC Technical Director and Team Manager D Hmingthana said, as reported by PTI.

The qualifiers of the second edition of the Super Cup were scheduled to be played between the 7-10 ranked teams from the ISL and the I-League. The top six teams, each of the ISL and the I-League, along with four qualified teams will play in the main tournament that has been scheduled from March 29 while final is to be played on April 13.

Cricket FootBall Kabaddi

Basketball Hockey