Roger Federer bags ATP Sportsmanship Award for 12th time

no photo

© Getty

Roger Federer bags ATP Sportsmanship Award for 12th time

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Roger Federer bagged the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award and Juan Martin del Potro was declared the Comeback Player of the Year at the 2016 ATP World Tour Awards on Thursday decided on player vote.

Arguably, the most-loved on court Federer won the Sportsmanship Award for the sixth year in a row to complete a dozen. The Swiss former No 1, who is struggling with injury, failed to win a single title this season in seven events and dropped out of top-10 for the first time since 2002. 

Federer edged out fellow major winners Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray and Stan Wawrinka for the honour.

Argentine del Potro staged a stunning comeback this season after starting the year ranked 590.  The former US Open champion won the Stockholm Open for his first title since 2014 and finished 2016 at No 38. He beat Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal at the Rio Olympics bagging silver and also reached the quarterfinals at Flushing Meadows.

Del Potro beat Julien Benneteau, Ivo Karlovic and Florian Mayer to the prize.

Other award winners are Taylor Fritz (ATP Star of Tomorrow), Lucas Pouille (Most Improved Player), Marin Cilic (Arthur Ashe Humanitarian of the Year) and Magnus Norman (ATP Coach of the Year).

Will Sania Mirza Take The Game? Predict her matches & Win Cash Prizes Today!

Join & Play NOW! Click here here to download Nostra Pro & get ₹20 Joining Bonus!

Win cash daily by predicting the right result on Nostragamus. Click here to download the game on Android! To know more, visit