user tracker image

Naman Ojha to lead Rest of India team for Irani Cup

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Image Courtesy: © Facebook - BCCI

Naman Ojha to lead Rest of India team for Irani Cup

no photo

Arun S Kaimal


Madhya Pradesh wicket-keeper batsman Naman Ojha will captain the Rest of India team that will take on 2015/16 Ranji Trophy champions Mumbai for the 2016 Irani Cup. Stuart Binny and Barinder Sran are also part of the squad for the match that will take place in Mumbai from March 6th to 10th.

The team for the Irani Cup was announced after Mumbai won the 2015/16 Ranji Trophy title on Friday defeating Saurashtra by an innings and 21 runs. The team captained by Naman Ojha also has Indian Internationals Stuart Binny and Barinder Sran along with Karnataka batsman Karun Nair. Karnataka, who were the 2014 /15 Ranji Trophy champions, had crashed out of the tournament in the group stages after some below par performances.

Saurashtra, who finished runners-up in the Ranji Trophy this time around, has two players in the squad in the form of pacer Jaydev Unadkat and wicket-keeper Sheldon Jackson. Jharkhand left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem, who finished as the leading wicket-taker in the Ranji Trophy with 51 wickets from nine matches, and Assam pacer Krishna Das with 50 wickets from ten matches also made it to the team after some impressive performances.

Rest of India (RoI) Team: KS Bharat, Faiz Fazal, Karun Nair, Sheldon Jackson, Naman Ojha (Captain), Stuart Binny, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Nathu Singh, Jaydev Unadkat, Barinder Sran, Krishna Das, Sudeep Chatterjee, Ian Dev Singh, Akshay Wakhare.

(The end of the 'Whistlepodu' era - A trip down the memory lane on CSK's eight-year journey)

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here