user tracker image

Duleep Trophy | Spinners take India Blue to title win against Red

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


Duleep Trophy | Spinners take India Blue to title win against Red

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


India Blue spinners Deepak Hooda and Saurabh Kumar claimed five wickets each in the second innings as India Blue defeated India Red by a huge margin of an innings and 187 runs to lift the Duleep Trophy title. After following on, the Reds were bowled out for 172 in the second innings of the final.

Brief Score: India Blue 541 (Nikhil Gangta 130, Anmolpreet Singh 96; Parvez Rasool 4-150) beat India Red 182, 172 (Abhinav Mukund 46; Deepak Hooda 5/56, Saurabh Kumar 5/51) by an innings and 187 runs

Resuming their second innings with the scorecard reading 128/5, the Reds lost the wicket of set batsman Ishan Kishan for 30 off the bowling of Saurabh and their chances of saving the game looked impossible. Hooda then took the wicket of Writtick Chatterjee (15) to reduce them to seven down with the scorecard reading only 137 in the second innings.

It was a matter of time after that as the lower order also crumbled to the spin twin of Hooda and Saurabh and the Abhinav Mukund-led side was bowled out for 172. Jammu and Kashmir all-rounder Parvez Rasool remained unbeaten on 15. Hooda and Saurabh finished with impressive figures of 5/56 and 5/51 respectively.

Earlier in the game, the champion side piled up a mammoth score of 541 in the first innings and Nikhil Gangta scored a hundred while Anmolpreet Singh scored 96. Swapnil Singh then ran through the opposition batting line-up to bowl out the India Red side for 182 in the first innings and the Blues enforced a follow-on.

Gangta bagged Man of the Match award for his hundred in the first innings that propelled the Faiz Fazal-led to a big score in the first innings.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here