user tracker image

Vijay Hazare Trophy | Elite Group B : Rohit Rayudu guide Hyderabad to easy win after bowlers run riot

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|


Vijay Hazare Trophy | Elite Group B : Rohit Rayudu guide Hyderabad to easy win after bowlers run riot

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


Rohit Rayudu's 75 and Bavanaka Sandeep's 44 in a 77-run stand for the fourth wicket helped Hyderabad secure an easy 101-run win over Chhattisgarh in the Group A encounter. In another match, Venkatesh Iyer's 83 was enough to outshine Samarth Singh's 70 as UP beat Madhya Pradesh by five wickets.

Group B

Hyderabad vs Chhattisgarh

Brief scores: Hyderabad 222/9 in 50 overs (R Rayudu 75; Rao 3-41) beat Chhattisgarh 121 in 33.3 overs (Ashutosh Singh 38; Hasan 3-19, Sairam 3-28) by 101 runs.

Chattisgarh did manage to keep Hyderabad in a strangle until the very end and didn’t allow their batsmen to get away with the game, but that hardly was the difference as their batsmen faltered to pose any fight. While chasing 223, Chhattisgarh were bowled out for 121 thanks to the solid bowling by Saaketh Sairam and Mehdi Hasan. Earlier, Rohit Rayudu's 75 runs and Bavanaka Sandeep’s 44 were the biggest differentiators in the game as their 77-run stand for the fourth wicket undid the good work by the opposition bowlers. 

Saurashtra vs Andhra

Brief Scores: Saurashtra 214/7 in 50 overs (Vasavada 55; Reddy 2-44, Sharma 2-48) lost to Andhra 215/4 in 48.3 overs (Prasanth Kumar 71, Bodapati Sumanth 43*) by 6 wickets

After Saurashtra opted to bat first, Prasanth Kumar scored a 71 and was helped by Bodapati Sumanth who scored an unbeaten 43 to post a target of 215 runs for Andhra Pradesh. Arpit Vasavada's 55 was the only half-century for Saurashtra as the team was disrupted by four wickets between Girinath Reddy and Karn Sharma. For Andhra Pradesh, Ashwin Hebbar couldn’t do much and fell early in the innings but a 48-run stand between Srikar Bharath and Kumar, and then a 70-run partnership between Kumar and Ricky Bhui set the platform for the run chase. 

Uttar Pradesh vs Madhya Pradesh

Brief Scores: Madhya Pradesh 277/7 in 50 overs (Venkatesh Iyer 83, Yash Dubey 66; Shiva Singh 2-49) lost to Uttar Pradesh 280/5 (Samarth Singh 70, Akshdeep Nath 51, Priyam Garg 50; Saransh Jain 3-29) by 5 wickets

Akshdeep Nath, Samarth Singh, and Priyam Garg helped Uttar Pradesh get the better of the 278-run target given by Madhya Pradesh with three balls to spare. Saransh Jain dismissed both the openers after a 76-run stand but a 105-run stand for the third wicket between Singh and Nath made Uttar Pradesh’s way clearer. Earlier, Amit Mishra and Shiva Singh picked two wickets each so as to limit Madhya Pradesh to 276. Venkatesh Iyer even hit 83 runs off 72 balls late in the innings, but regular strikes meant half-centuries by Naman Ojha and Yash Dubey didn’t make any difference in the eventual result.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here