IPL draft: Dhoni to Pune, Raina to Rajkot

IPL draft: Dhoni to Pune, Raina to Rajkot

no photo

India's limited-overs team captain MS Dhoni will don the colours of Pune for the next season of Indian Premier League (IPL) after the franchise picked the player in the draft on Tuesday in Mumbai. Dhoni’s teammate Suresh Raina was the first pick for Rajkot franchise in the draft.

Former Chennai Super Kings captain Dhoni was the first pick for Pune franchise owned by Sanjiv Goenka’s New Rising group.

Dhoni’s CSK teammate Suresh Raina became the first pick for Rajkot franchise owned by Delhi-based Intex technologies.

Pune’s second pick was former Rajasthan Royals (RR) opener and Indian player Ajinkya Rahane.

Rajkot picked local lad and former CSK all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja as their second pick in the draft.

Pune picked Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin in the third round of the draft. 

The first overseas player picked in the draft was Brendon McCullum, who went to Rajkot as the third pick.

Australian captain Steve Smith was the fourth pick for Pune.

Rajkot's fourth pick was Australian all-rounder James Faulkner.

Pune's fifth and final pick was South African T20 captain Faf du Plessis.

Rajkot picked West Indies all-rounnder Dwayne Bravo as their final pick.

The five players picked by both teams are:-

Seven fromer Chennai Super King players and three former Rajasthan Royals players were picked in the draft.

MS Dhoni, R Ashwin, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Brendon McCullum and Dwayne Bravo were the picks from CSK, while Ajinkya Rahane, Steve Smith and James Faulkner were the picks from RR. 

The unpicked players will go into an auction, which is to be held on February 6 in Bengaluru.

Both teams had a minimum of Rs. 40 crore and a maximum of Rs. 66 crore to buy players. As per the tender, the first capped player would be paid 12.5 crore, while the remaining four capped players are to get Rs 9.5 crore, Rs 7.5 crore, Rs 5.5 crore, and Rs 4 crore respectively. However, the players will be paid the same amount they have been receiving with the previous franchise. 

IPL 2016 will start on April 9, with the final on May 29.

Get updates! Follow us on

    Open all