user tracker image

Chetshwar Pujara, PV Sindhu, Mary Kom among the nominations for Indian Sports Honours

no photo
camera iconcamera icon|

Chetshwar Pujara, PV Sindhu, Mary Kom among the nominations for Indian Sports Honours

no photo

SportsCafe Desk


India's Test cricket stalwart Cheteshwar Pujara, Olympic medallists Mary Kom, and P V Sindhu are among the host of sportspersons nominated for the second edition of Indian Sports Honours which will be awarded on Saturday. Rohit Sharma, Sunil Chhetri and Jasprit Bumrah are also some of the nominees.

Pujara was nominated after his prolific 2018 away season where he amassed 837 runs at an average of 38.04 and for being the highest run-getter with 521 runs from four matches at an average of 74 with three tons under his belt. Apart from Pujara, his teammates Rohit Sharma, who has made 1030 runs from 14 ODI's last year, and newbie Jasprit Bumrah, who picked up 78 wickets across all formats are also nominated. Indian football skipper Sunil Chhetri, who won the GQ Men of the Year Award for 2018, is also nominated for the Sportsman Of the year ( Team Sport ) Award.

Meanwhile, The Sportswoman of the Year (Team Sport) award would have Indian women's cricket team members Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, and Harmanpreet Kaur. National hockey side goalkeeper Savita Punia is also on the nominee list.

For the Sportsman of the Year award in individual category, star javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, badminton player Kidambi Srikanth, top wrestler Bajrang Punia, emerging shooter Saurabh Choudhary, and ace cueist Pankaj Advani were among the candidates. In the Sportswoman of the Year award in the same, star shuttler PV Sindhu, and boxer Mary Kom, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, sprinter Hima Das, and heptathlete Swapna Barman have been chosen.

The Indian Sports Honours has been an initiative of Virat Kohli Foundation and RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group. The awards have 17 categories, including one Life Time Achievement Honour, will be conferred here on Saturday.

Winners for 11 categories would be selected by the Indian Sports Honours (ISH) Jury, which has the likes of Pullela Gopichand, Abhinav Bindra, Sardar Singh, Mahesh Bhupathi, P T Usha and Anjali Bhagwat in it. The remaining six will be chosen by the fans through the voting poll on Twitter.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here