WATCH | A comedy of errors in TNPL

WATCH | A comedy of errors in TNPL

no photo

The Tamil Nadu Premier League was at its entertaining best during its 8th match between Chepauk Super Gillies and Lyca Kovai Kings. On the last delivery of the Kings' innings, the Chepauk side fumbled a couple of times before getting the wicket of K Deeban Lingesh on the third attempt.

The Chepauk Super Gillies were in the driving seat in the game against Lyca Kovai Kings after restricting the away side to a sub-par score of 136 at the end of 19 overs.

Super Gillies skipper Rajagopal Sathish then gave Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore the responsibility of bowling the last over of the Kovai innings and Sai Kishore did not disappoint as he scalped the wicket of Mohammed for 26. Moreover, Sai Kishore kept the Kings batsmen in check not allowing them to score boundaries and also bowled a brilliant last delivery to restrict the batting side to a single, or so we thought.

MK Sivakumar slashed hard at the last delivery, but only managed to get an inside edge onto the ball which went to deep mid-wicket. Sivakumar straight away called for two while Sai Kishore followed the ball, collected it sliding, and aimed his throw at the striker's end where Sivakumar was seen scampering back for a second.

The ball ricocheted off Sivakumar's bat towards short fine leg as the duo tried to steal a third run, but with a man there Sivakumar hurried back to the crease only to take off once again as a wild throw from the fielder and no backup opened an opportunity for the batsmen. After completing the third, the Kings' batsmen tried to pressurize the fielder who came in to collect the ball by trying to take the fourth run, but the move did not work as he calmly threw the ball to Thalaivan Sargunam who was at the top of the stumps and dislodged the bails to finally complete the run-out.

You can watch the video here:

The Lycans finished with a sub-par score of 146 runs on the board and Chepauk Super Gillies won the match by six wickets and an over to spare thanks to an unbeaten 52-run knock by Thalaivan Sargunam. 

Get updates! Follow us on

Open all